Review of The Story Collector by Evie Gaughan

Reviewed by: Mojomums reviewer Dinija

What they say: A beautiful and mysterious historical romance from the author of The Heirloom and The Mysterious Bakery on Rue de Paris.

Thornwood Village, 1910. Anna, a young farm girl, volunteers to help an intriguing American visitor, Harold Griffin-Krauss, translate ‘fairy stories’ from Irish to English.

But all is not as it seems and Anna soon finds herself at the heart of a mystery that threatens the future of her community and her very way of life…..

Captivated by the land of myth, folklore and superstition, Sarah Harper finds herself walking in the footsteps of Harold and Anna one hundred years later, unearthing dark secrets that both enchant and unnerve.

The Story Collector treads the intriguing line between the everyday and the otherworldly, the seen and the unseen. With a taste for the magical in everyday life, Evie Gaughan’s latest novel is full of ordinary characters with extraordinary tales to tell. Perfect for fans of Jess Kidd and Eowyn Ivey.

What we say: “I liked this book especially because it was written half as book and other half as diary, with a beautiful cover and I love the nature theme on every page…

A lady from America ends up in mysterious town in Ireland…the author has described every person and place so very well that it is easy for me to imagine and even feel the weather or the smell of the old houses. It is nice to follow the characters dialogues about every day and about their mysteries with fairies… It is quite easy to read, even though I didn’t understand the old Irish language in some places in the book.

I love fairy tales, and this made me read eagerly to the end because of the tales that characters told to the story collector.  I really don’t want to give to much away, because I think this a fantastic book to read yourself!

I would like to be in Sarah’ s place, where you find a old diary… I love these type of books!”

 

The Story Collector by Evie Gaughan is available from many good high street bookstores and online from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *