Carol Dale – Self Employed Business Owner at babee bio

Logo

Tell us a bit about you

I was born in East Kilbride then moved to Kirkintilloch to be near my in-laws three years ago. I am married to Joe and in 2005 we adopted our amazing little boy Louis and then in 2008 adopted our gorgeous little girl Sasha.  When they were little I used to tell them a story about what it had been like waiting for them to come into our lives and in 2012 I self published the book entitled “waiting for you” which has sold quite a few copies on Amazon and EBay.  I didn’t write it to make money; I just hoped it might be a nice story for other families.  I donated several copies to adoption and fostering agencies.

What career/job did you do before you had children?

When I left school I studied business studies before going into Nursing.  I trained as a Registered General Nurse and worked in Medical Wards for a few years.  I left the NHS in 1995 to pursue a career in the Private sector.  I studied further and attained degrees in Nursing and Health and Social Care and for the past 17 years have worked in Senior Management within a variety of areas within the Health and Social sector.

What job did you want to do as a child?

The first job I ever wanted to be was an archaeologist, then an author and then for many years I wanted to run my own business. I grew out of the archaeologist notion, wrote a book and I am now running my own business so 2 out of 3 aint bad!

What made you decide to change career?

In January the business I worked for closed the service I was involved in and I decided that as this had been the second job that had come to an end due to either closure or redundancy that I would start my own business. I felt my skills were transferrable and I decided to use what skills I had and work hard to develop any new ones I felt I needed.  My previous roles had often taken me away from home and involved long hours.  I wanted to spend more time with my children and husband so a job from home seemed like an attractive prospect.  I went from earning £55,000 a year to claiming job seekers allowance and selling unwanted household items on eBay and Amazon.  The experience of online selling although made me very little money got me thinking about having my own business.

How did you decide what business you wanted to set up?

With a background in the health and social care sector and research, I was shocked to read the affect that toxic chemicals were having not only on our environment but on the clothes we wear.  I hadn’t realised that 1.5 billion pounds worth of pesticides are used on cotton fields every year.  Insecticides are the most hazardous pesticides and have been linked to health problems from asthma to cancer. Wearing organic clothes eliminates these risks.I decided that I had to do something about it and do my bit for the environment. I wanted to create a range of baby clothes made from Organic cotton which would limit my customer’s exposure to toxic substances, allow us to help improve the lives of millions of people and make a real difference to the global environment. I was determined that we would use the best organic cotton and have our own designs and label.

Tell us about your average day

Mornings start for us at about 7.30am. My husband and I are both hands on parents so share the morning routine. Joe, my husband drives the kids to school and nursery while following a bit of tidying up, a shower, clothes and make up on, my working day will begin. For me it’s important to be ready for work, I don’t wear a suit anymore but my pyjamas just wouldn’t feel right! I also wear a pair of shoes which psychologically enables me to feel ready for action.

I am a bit of a night owl and find ideas come to me late on so I need a few strong coffees in the morning to give me a kick start. I tend to work most days and usually more than 8 hours a day but working from home means I can work my hours around my children.

How does your new role work with childcare?

My husband Joe is a nurse and works late shifts during the week so he is around for Sasha when she comes home nursery at 11.30. My in-laws are amazing and are always happy to help out.

What’s the hardest part about changing career?

The hardest part was giving up something I had done for so long and was thought to be very good at, and being the poorest I have ever been. I had to sell my car to support the business and the whole thing was just a monumental change.

And the best thing?

It means I’m not out of the house for very long hours, I can spend more quality time with my family. The buck starts and ends with me but I like it, my decisions and my choices. I am excited about what lies ahead and I’m determined to make things work.

What advice would you give to other Mums?

I would say don’t be put off having the life you want and following your dreams because one day you will wake up and regret the things you didn’t do!

 

 

babee bio launches at the end of June www.babeebio.co.uk

You can find them on Facebook www.facebook.com/BabeeBio and also on Twitter @Babee_Bio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *